Just another WordPress.com site

Got the Telephoto Back

Every time that I would venture outside I would hear the birds and think that it would not be long until my lens was back from repair. It is a noisy thing especially after trying ultrasonics but it is what I have and I missed it. After recharging the battery I went to the park and found some  Downy Woodpeckers and a male Pine Grosbeak. I was shooting away when all of a sudden my camera just died. Oh no! What happened?! I turned it off for a bit, then back on. Nothing! Dismayed, I went on a considerable drive to a camera shop to see if my battery had finally reached its life cycle. The fellow told me a new one would cost ninety dollars. Ninety dollars! I said that I heard I could get them for seventy five. He said he could give it to me for seventy five since my battery had apparently died. What?! Why the  difference? I heard recently that I can get them on-line for fourty.Then he pulled my battery out and  put it back in after unsucessfully trying to test it. My camera worked again. And the battery was still full. So I went home with my wallet intact and my camera working and my battery still full.Took a couple of shots just to check. I wonder if  I overloaded it with all the focusing and refocusing on those birds? Has this happened to any of you?  I will go back and remember to take my cleats because the paths are icy. Anyway here is a photo of a male Pine Grosbeak,i think or maybe a female in breeding plumage. No marks on the breasts like I have seen on the males but I may have been fooled by the red.

©Jane Chesebrough

3 responses

  1. It a a lovely shot of the Pine Grosbeak. It’s such a close-up I almost felt like I had to step back from the screen. Great capture.

    March 18, 2012 at 7:50 am

    • Thank you. Nice of you to come to my blog.Jane.

      March 19, 2012 at 6:27 pm

  2. Yay the telephoto is back!!!! I had a battery issue once before where the camera just stopped working. I took the battery out and put it back in and never had a problem since. Odd. 90 bucks for a battery??? Jeez that’s highway robbery!!! Glad yours worked again before shelling out all that cash. I purchased a spare for mine and it was 24 dollars!

    March 19, 2012 at 7:48 am

Leave a Reply

