Just another WordPress.com site

Downy Woodpecker

©Jane Chesebrough

it seems to be easier to get closer to the birds at the feeders-maybe the birds have just resigned themselves to the nusinace of humans in order to get some food.Almost all the snow is gone but there is nothing that is growing so I imagine the food  is in somewhat short supply. it is great to hear the songs of the birds and even saw a robin in a shrub right at eye level about four feet away while walking downtown. I did not have my camera with me. There is a pair of downies at this sight somaybe we will see little ones in time.

4 responses

  1. I have a feeding station in my backyard (a pole with several bird feeders on it). I started out doing this out of pity for the birds in winter, but now I leave feed out all year long.

    Mid-summer is fascinating because the parent bird will bring his/her young fledgling to the feeder to teach the fledgling how to use it. I have several different types of food out, so the parent shows the little bird which type is good for their species. Last summer I watched a father downy woodpecker teach his fledgling how to eat from the suet feeder. First the fledgling would be perched nearby while the father would get a bit of suet. Then the father would bring the suet in his beak to feed to the youngster. Next the fledgling was perched on the suet feeder, and the father continued feeding his youngster suet. Finally the youngster was eating at the suet himself, but even then the two appeared jointly for about a week. It was like a master and apprentice sort of thing.

    April 5, 2012 at 9:22 am

    • I would find that fascinating to watch, a real honour. It beats reality TV. Maybe I will hang out at the park more with my lawn chair and watch for this. Thank you for sharing. Jane

      …don’t let yesterday use up too much of today.” Cherokee proverb https://janechese.wordpress.com

      April 5, 2012 at 11:49 am

  2. It’s a very wonderful photo. I admire Your skills to take these nature photos.

    April 6, 2012 at 3:46 am

    • Thank you -it helped to have a co-operative model

      April 9, 2012 at 8:16 am

Leave a Reply

