Just another WordPress.com site

Pretty Scraggly but Good to see them Again.

Last fall I saw a cow moose nursing her calf  and took pictures but it was getting dark and none of them turned out. Needless to say, I was disappointed.

Driving out of the park today I saw the calf and safely pulled over to the side of the road and put on my hazard lights.No I was not so excited that I stopped dead in the middle of the road. Good thing, because there were people behind me. I was taking photos making sure that I had the right exposure and somewhat good composition from the car and Mom showed up. I should always know that where there is a young one, mother will be close by.It is always a good thing to take a 360 degree perusal of the scene so you know where everyone is. Like I said, they look scraggly but that will change soon unless it is parasites. They were in the same spot as last time I saw them so it is possible that I will spot them again. Enjoy! I sure did!

©Jane Chesebrough

©Jane Chesebrough

©Jane Chesebrough

©Jane Chesebrough

12 responses

  1. Wonderful! We don’t have moose here but I remember them from Canada.

    May 4, 2012 at 11:10 pm

  2. Fantastic shots, it must be awesome to come upon such a large animal, glad you did!

    May 5, 2012 at 6:38 am

  3. Fantastic shots. I love them. Here in Finland the Moose is more the “dangerous” animal in traffic.

    May 6, 2012 at 6:44 am

    • Apparently in Newfoundland they have a high mortality rate in moose-car collisions.

      May 7, 2012 at 9:36 am

  4. Great photos Jane! Now the Moose will be feasting on all the news shoots after a long winter of slim pickings!

    May 6, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    • Thank you. Seeing alot of the animals relishing the feast

      May 7, 2012 at 9:34 am

  5. Northern Narratives

    Beautiful animals.

    May 6, 2012 at 6:08 pm

  6. Great photos, but they both look very thin and “worn”. I know they change to summer fur, but still they do not look quite ok, but I hope so of course. The collar means the cow is part of science program?

    May 7, 2012 at 2:03 pm

    • Yes, I thought they looked kind of mangy but they are feeding on the succulent plants and will fatten up over spring and summer. The cow is wearing a radio collar so the scientists can track her movements. i notice that when i take photos of wildlife they are wearing these collars-takes away from the “natural-ness of it all. hope they are not stuck with this for lifebut fear they are. jane

      …don’t let yesterday use up too much of today.” Cherokee proverb https://janechese.wordpress.com

      May 10, 2012 at 1:07 pm

  7. sandy

    I think they are great, Jane. In fact, they look just like the ones we see when we go upcountry to northwest Maine. The water drops in the third photos are really neat!

    May 7, 2012 at 2:40 pm

Leave a Reply

