Just another WordPress.com site

That Ruddy Duck!

Finally! I found some Ruddy Ducks. I have mentioned in past blogs that it was the Ruddy Duck that first got me hooked on birding. I had a friend that shared that love with me and we would go on numerous walks together to count and observe birds. Every spring it was an unofficial contest to see which one of us would spot the first Ruddy Duck , then take the other to the site to share the findings. This is particularly special to me because my friend died as a result of complications from a car accident by a drunk driver. So I saw these ducks yesterday and said, as if she were there, “Here you go, Pauline. here’s our Ruddies.”

©Jane Chesebrough

©Jane Chesebrough

 

4 responses

  1. I love Ruddy Ducks too.

    I’m sorry about your loss but glad you can tell her about them, I do that with a friend who passed away too.

    June 7, 2012 at 5:45 pm

    • They are not great shots but I am sentimental about them. Thanks for visiting, Mia.

      June 7, 2012 at 9:48 pm

  2. Glad your ruddies are back, Jane, even more so with your sentimental love. Keep your friend posted, she’s smiling down at your discovery for the both of you.

    June 18, 2012 at 10:03 am

    • I believe that is true, thanks Donna.

      June 18, 2012 at 1:11 pm

Leave a Reply

