Just another WordPress.com site

A Refuge in the City

Thought I would post something closer to home.Taking a closer look  at the everyday things around me. It actually is a scenic from a park here in the city that I go to frequently that affords me a view of nature and renews my spirit. You can see the cars in the background and that shows that it is in the city but you can also see the beautiful reflections in the water and the various birds that use this park as home. Presently there is water treatment being done  to eradicate algae and warning signs have been posted around the pond that say that this product is harmful to humans and dogs. Well, then isn’t it harmful to the birds, too? The city wants to clean up the pond for some swimming competitions and they try to get rid of the waterfowl but I found it amusing in the past to see swimmers practising for a triathlon with a few die-hard  ducks swimming alongside them. Despite the recordings of distressed chicks, birds of prey etc.  being broadcast from the islands, some of the geese and ducks keep returning year after year. Yes, there is a lot of poop, sometimes an amazing and annoying amount but I think it is worth it to receive the joy of watching nature co-exist with us in our mutual surroundings so we can observe and learn from one another.

©Jane Chesebrough

4 responses

  1. I have gone to a number of small, suburban parks where I feel I’m totally out in nature (somehow I manage to disregard the sounds of traffic). But in the winter after the foliage has dropped, I’m often startled to see how close the park trails are to suburban homes. Nonetheless I love our suburban parks. There’s one nearby that has a small pond. If you go near dusk, it’s such a pleasure to hear the frogs croaking there.

    June 13, 2012 at 9:20 am

    • Yes! Both Wood frogs and Boreal Chorus frogs.!

      June 13, 2012 at 1:57 pm

  2. Parks like these are fantastic places to visit. Around here we have seen success with adding hay or straw (can’t remember which one) to the water to clear up the algae. It really does work!

    June 18, 2012 at 8:19 am

Leave a Reply

