Just another WordPress.com site

Changing Colour

This is a photo of Abraham Lake on highway 11 east of Red Deer, named after Silas Abraham a native resident of the Saskatchewan Valley in the 1900’s. I first saw this lake a few years ago and was astounded by its colour, a rich turquoise. It is more of an aqua colour at this time of year because of the silt from spring run-off  but probably by the time of posting will have changed to a deeper tone. One of my favourite spots is Windy Point which is where I was when I took the photo. This is the calmest that I have experienced it in three visits. I like it because of the colours and I can get close to the water and see and feel the energy. Windy Point lives up to its name and I have had to do some serious cleaning of my sensor after being here because the wind blows all sorts of debris into my camera  without taking off the lens.   It is a long lake , 32 kilometers that stretches from outside Nordegg to the Sakatchewan Crossing at the mountains. man-made, and has a dam, the Big Horn, at the east end that you can see in this photo on the right.

©Jane Chesebrough

14 responses

  1. Unbelievable beauty!

    July 18, 2012 at 7:21 pm

  2. This has to be one of the most gorgeous photos I’ve ever seen, does not look like this earth … and the actual locale must be pure paradise. Great work Jane ~ Much Love 🙂

    July 18, 2012 at 8:33 pm

    • the wind can knock you over at times but I can spend hours just in this one area, exploring all the crooks and crannies-glad you like it, Robyn.:)

      July 18, 2012 at 9:52 pm

  3. This is a gorgeous image Jane. I love the expansiveness of the west. It must have been a magnificent day…blue skies, puffy clouds, tall mountains, the aqua water, and not a soul in sight!

    July 19, 2012 at 8:43 am

    • Yes, I love the clouds in this shot and only run into a few people when I am out here, there were two photographing at the end of the point of land.. There are only 3 lodgings and one hostel on this stretch of highway plus a few campgrounds.

      July 20, 2012 at 12:07 pm

  4. A strong mountain scenery where the colours really are the most important element and what makes this picture stand out. I really like the contrast between those organic clouds and the ruggedness of the landscape below. Very nice.

    July 20, 2012 at 12:02 pm

  5. Thank you

    July 20, 2012 at 12:07 pm

  6. Gorgeous Jane! What a wonderful discovery for you, to know when & where to return each year to enjoy. Looks like you have discovered your own ‘Caribbean-like island & beaches’ to view and stroll along! 🙂

    July 21, 2012 at 6:56 pm

    • didn’t get to some of the places I planned but that can go on my “get back to “lists.Always discover a new place, this time was no exception.

      July 21, 2012 at 11:25 pm

  7. Ah, beautiful…the clouds, the mountains, the water. I can just smell the fresh air.
    I totally understand the need for serious sensor cleaning. I’ve had to do that twice after some very windy, dusty outings.

    July 25, 2012 at 6:00 pm

  8. My eyes are resting in this beautiful landscape.

    August 4, 2012 at 2:14 am

    • What a beautiful way to say it.

      August 4, 2012 at 2:02 pm

Leave a Reply

