Just another WordPress.com site

Fancy Dancers

I returned to the Heritage Festival in Edmonton yesterday-was hoping to see some fancy dancers and I wasn’t disappointed. I rode my bicycle which was fine going-mostly downhill- but the trip home was a little tough. I had to walk up the hill-my knees were hurting and my energy low but there was no rush and I made it home just fine. It was hot and sunny and what energy I lacked was more than made up for by these dancers.They are from the Sioux nation and had elaborate costumes and excellent dancing skills. I must have gotten so excited that I  forgot to take photos at one point then dialed my shutter speed a few notches and lost a few shots.Used my zoom lens and compensated for the high contrast in lighting both in camera and in post editing.Have done some cropping to eliminate or reduce those awkward backgrounds that always occur in crowded public scenes.

©Jane Chesebrough

©Jane Chesebrough

©Jane Chesebrough

©Jane Chesebrough

 

7 responses

  1. Loved seeing this!! It’s ‘feather’ day ~ you will see when you visit my post today 🙂 What great shots, costumes incredible – and these dancers must have been amazing!! ~ sending love x

    August 7, 2012 at 3:48 pm

  2. Reblogged this on belindainspiration49.

    August 7, 2012 at 9:13 pm

  3. Actually I did read your post-and thought of the ‘coincidence” with the feather theme- can’t seem to spell “synchronisity”.These people were very dedicated and there is symbolism in every decoration. i used feathers sometimes in my mandalas and saw it as it as a connection to the higher realms.

    August 7, 2012 at 10:57 pm

  4. Fabulous photos and costumes. Truly a sight to behold…I wish I was there!!!

    August 8, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    • had some challenges-the junk in the photo that I did not want, bright sun or dark shadow, Thanks for the feedback!

      August 8, 2012 at 9:28 pm

  5. Maxine Lozinski

    I like the contrast of the bright light and shadows, also with the close up cropping you get to see the great expressions on their faces. Love the photos.

    August 10, 2012 at 10:21 pm

    • just a little crop on the sides with some, used my zoom lens to get up close. Glad you like them.

      August 14, 2012 at 11:17 am

Leave a Reply

