Just another WordPress.com site

From Birds to Butterflies

I have been reading a lot of blogs  that have mentioned, and seen for myself, the scarcity of sightings of our fine feathered friends.  They are laying low, bringing up their  young and perhaps molting. The festivals in the city with the noise and crowds seem to make the birds disappear, as least temporarily. I can’t blame them but I did notice as soon as the last festival ended and people were doing tear-down, the gulls arrived in hoards to take advantage of the pickings.

When the bird sighting numbers lower in July, I see a lot of my birding friends change their sights to the butterflies and flowers. I tend to focus on the butterflies more because they are so beautiful. It seems they perch on the flowers a little longer towards the latter part of the day. This one at Elk Island National Park was sighted  about a week ago and stopped on the bench of a picnic table. I do not know the identity as I have not bought a bug book yet or borrowed one from the library-that will more than likely occur at some point in the future. Your expertise is welcome; if you know what it is, feel free to comment.

©Jane Chesebrough

Hand-held at 300mm, 1/40 sec at f/5.6, ISO 200

 

 

6 responses

  1. Don’t know what kind of butterfly this is, but it sure is colorful!!!

    August 10, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    • i need to return some books to the library, maybe I can pick up a “bug book” or butterfly book.

      August 14, 2012 at 11:18 am

  2. Isn’t it wonderful to feel kinship with creatures such as these? I don’t know about you, but whenever I’m down, if I go outside, something as simple as a flitting butterfly lifts me up almost immediately. Beautiful photo, Jane.

    August 12, 2012 at 3:28 pm

    • If I am down, I can always get the energy up to go out in to nature and yes, that does give me a lift.Thank you for visiting.

      August 14, 2012 at 11:16 am

  3. It’s fun to discover new species of butterfly. That’s a new one for me.

    August 14, 2012 at 11:05 pm

  4. I picked up a book from the library and am pretty sure that this is a Red Admiral.Vanessa Atalanta

    August 15, 2012 at 3:11 pm

Leave a Reply

