Just another WordPress.com site

Listening to the Urges Within

©Jane Chesebrough

The other day, yesterday in fact,  I went for a walk in the opposite direction that I usually go. I remembered that a friend whom I haven’t seen in a while was probably still  in a nearby hospital and thought about going to visit her. I kept walking in that direction and thought about whether I had time before going somewhere else where I needed to be.  I noticed a series of  notes on  the telephone poles along the block. One in particular caught my attention. It was hand-written and photo-copied  by someone who talked about the benefits of doing  good  and how it comes back to repay you with more good. I thought here was an opportunity to do good. First, I had  thought of her and second, I had read this note. I could not not go.

I inquired at the hospital desk and got directions to her room. I was feeling guilty for letting so much time go by without visiting her. But  I was there at that moment. It was a shock. Yes, it was her but in some ways not her. I introduced myself and it seemed that she focused her one  eye on me, her breath coming unevenly and mouth moving but no words. I said hello and sat beside her bed and held her hand and talked about thing s we had done. I think she recognized me, in fact she did speak a little. Then a mutual friend who happened to be a patient in the hospital, came in and we all visited together . When this  woman fell asleep I went to see where the other woman was staying  and promised that I would come and see her first and we could both go together to see our friend.

I did talk to the nurse and  asked what her situation was  and she was honest and said that my friend is getting “end of life” care. I went out from there elated that I listened to the inner urge. Yes I felt guilty for not seeing her in so long and I felt sad that she was dying but I was also thanking  God for putting it in my thoughts to visit her. I felt good for doing good.

6 responses

  1. Amazing story Jane. It was almost as though the universe was communicating with you directly… first your choice to walk a different route, and then to find those notes on the trees – and finally your realization that your visit with your friend was more important than you had anticipated. I agree — it always feels so good to follow your heart in the direct of good intention. This was case-in-point evidence of that truth. Beautiful…and lovely image to remember the experience. May your friend find peace and comfort throughout the remainder of her journey here… Much Love ~RL

    August 28, 2012 at 10:12 am

    • Thank you, Robyn yes I felt “connected’ and that was great.

      August 28, 2012 at 1:56 pm

  2. Great photo. Death is incomprehensible. My mother died three weeks ago and yet it is incomprehensible to me. Happily I have a lot of photos and one video from her.

    August 31, 2012 at 7:56 am

    • I am sorry for your loss. I am happy that you have the memories and the lessons that you wil always remember.

      August 31, 2012 at 12:23 pm

  3. Thank you for sharing this, Jane, it brings us all closer to one another with our personal shares. Sometimes it is amazing that our travels and decisions in everyday life can speak to our heart. Your friend is in my prayers. And I am thrilled that you took that route and saw those notes that day.

    September 2, 2012 at 7:44 pm

  4. It is an amazing community we have here, isn’t it? Thanks for your kind words, I am going back today.

    September 3, 2012 at 12:12 pm

Leave a Reply

