Just another WordPress.com site

A Little Experiment

Another walk in the woods revealed  a large amount of berries. I like to get photos of them when still plump and fresh. Maybe it is all the rain and sun or perhaps a sign of an early winter. O-h-h! did I say that word? I am seeing signs of the changing seasons. One night it was only 9 degrees celsius, same as last May. Short summer. However I am going to enjoy my shorts and sandals as much as I can and search for the pretty blooms that we see at the end of summer. I used a technique that I have seen in other’s photos and asked myself, “How do they do that?” I asked a friend recently when he posted a goat with a brown eye in a black and white photo. One method is to go into Lightroom “Develop” module and where the colours are, desaturate them except for what you want. Well red berries can just beg for this treatment so I  decided  to play with this technique in this photo leaving red and some orange in as well.  You can do this in Adobe Photoshop or Corel Paint Shop Pro-using masking  but I am not sure how to do that. Any comments are welcome.

©Jane Chesebrough

5 responses

  1. This is awesome to look at Jane. I don’t have thees editing programs – Lightroom was the one highly recommended by someone I know who is a photo-pro. I have been keeping it really simple with my i-photo — but this is tempting me…. very creative and aesthetically appealing all the way ~ can see it as an artistic print in a frame. Thank you for sharing it! ~ Much Love, R

    August 31, 2012 at 10:02 pm

  2. Thanks Robyn.There may even be some free programs where you can de-saturate the colours separately.cheapest would be Corel Paint Shop Pro for $70 Anyway you do great work “as is” .Have a happy day!:)

    September 1, 2012 at 1:59 pm

  3. Very cool Jane…this image was an excellent choice for this technique!!! I really like this one!

    September 2, 2012 at 11:51 am

  4. Gorgeous gorgeous, I love it, Jane! I’ve not played with this technique yet, and recently my daughter actually asked me if I knew how to so we can do this with some of her wedding photos this November, she’ll be carrying sunflowers and she wants just those in color. I can’t wait to play with this and her photos.

    September 2, 2012 at 7:49 pm

  5. That will look great! Please share the results. The thing that i had to watch for was other similar colours would show up. For instance when I added a tiny bit of yellow because some berries had yellow then the yellow came out in the green leaves too, so took it out and realized hat particular picture didn’t work so well because the highlights were in grey tones.

    September 3, 2012 at 12:10 pm

Leave a Reply

