Just another WordPress.com site

Down Memory Lane

©Jane Chesebrough

I just want to say that the woman that I went to visit last week passed away early Monday morning. I was going to see her again on Wednesday and on Sunday but went Monday. I really believe the whole point of this was to make the visit last week so I could say my goodbyes.I did not see her a lot but we met 31 years ago and there were periods  when we spent  a lot of time together.She came to my 50th birthday party. I picked her up and we travelled to Elk Island National Park  together to enjoy the fresh air and scenery. She was very good at Scrabble and we had many games when we would talk about what was going on in our lives and discuss religion, theology, humanity, found love,  lost love, despair and hope. I enjoyed the mental stimulation. She had a tough childhood  and struggled with depression all her life. I have so many memories over the years, times she laughed and times she succumbed to illness and would end up in the hospital. She taught me so much. I have been checking with friends about services and checked the papers but have not found anything yet. For  now I just pray for her to know how much  God loves her, happy that she can receive it and be whole .  I remember.

8 responses

  1. Jane, I’m so sorry to read about your loss of a good friend. Thoughts and prayers are with you.

    September 5, 2012 at 2:13 pm

  2. A very touching tribute to her Jane… may she be a peaceful place and feel that love. Blessings ~ RL

    September 5, 2012 at 2:13 pm

  3. Maxine Lozinski

    So sorry for the loss of your friend.

    September 5, 2012 at 4:20 pm

  4. Thank you all. She could be feisty…i haven’t seen a lot of her in the past few years so it was good timing to drop in last week.

    September 5, 2012 at 8:43 pm

  5. I’m very sorry for your loss Jane.

    September 6, 2012 at 6:11 am

  6. been looking in the papers and the funeral is Friday. I am glad I can go and honour her.

    September 6, 2012 at 1:10 pm

  7. I’m so late on commenting, but so sorry for your loss. May she indeed know God loves her. She is now free of pain and suffering. I know she is smiling down at you, thankful for her time with you and you with her in this life. Take care Jane.

    September 27, 2012 at 9:13 pm

  8. Thank you for your kind words, Donna.

    September 28, 2012 at 12:29 am

Leave a Reply

