Just another WordPress.com site

That Way!

I went to Hawrelak Park a downtown park that is adjacent to the river that flows through the city. We do attract eagles here to the open waters and some over- winter due to the water treatment plant where there is warm water spewing into the river and it stays open plus  there is a good supply of ducks to eat. I met skiers that had seen a pair of eagles and I asked directions and got some pretty vague answers.” On the  left side of the trail and up the trail a fair distance.” I  could write a blog on  knowing land marks and giving directions, good to know if you get injured and need to call for help.

Anyway, I set off by foot on the right-hand trail and kept my eyes geared to the tree tops to my “left” knowing that it would be before the bridge because I had asked. Someone that I met earlier called to me through the bushes and I switched to the trail on the left after back-tracking  a couple of dozen metres thinking that by the time I got to “the spot” it would be too late. One woman came up the trail excitedly talking about an eagle and “had I seen it?” that she heard it was ‘near the bridge.” I told her “whoa! you are making so much noise, stop YAKKING so much” and told her that I too was looking. She kept going, at a jog, toward the bridge.Perusing the tree tops I saw it. At first I wondered if it was twigs shaped like an eagle and took a photo from a distance. As I got closer, I did see it although somewhat obscured by branches. I took more shots from both sides of the tree that it was perched in. Then the woman came back not having seen anything. I motioned to her to come to where I was and explained in low tones that I too, was excited and  because I exhibited such a  lack of social skills upon our first meeting ,  showed her the best perspective for getting a somewhat clear shot.

I was pleased that I had caught up to it after so many distractions  and watched it for a few minutes.It looked right at me, then at the river. then flew away after a few more minutes and after I had taken a few more more shots of the river and the persistent chickadees.

I love seeing eagles. They are regal-looking and are one of the larger birds that rise to the heavens and pair for life. In native symbolism they come from the east direction of the medicine wheel , representing “illumination” and seeing things “from a higher perspective.” I was grateful and examined my own impatience at people who were helpful but not so helpful.

I saw the eagle three quarters of the way up  a large deciduous tree beside an open area of the river across from the run-off  at government hill west of the Groat bridge from the walking trail. It may come back and that at least gives you an idea where to look.And I will know where to look when I go back that way again.

©Jane Chesebrough

©Jane Chesebrough

©Jane Chesebrough

9 responses

  1. Always a thrill to see an eagle!

    November 15, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    • I agree, always excites me. I look forward to the close-ups.

      November 18, 2012 at 9:47 am

  2. Congrats on finding the Eagle Jane!

    November 15, 2012 at 6:31 pm

  3. So majestic!

    November 15, 2012 at 7:37 pm

  4. Wow! Lucky you. What a magnificent raptor. Great Photos!

    November 16, 2012 at 6:22 am

    • Thank you . Yes, I was sure happy.

      November 16, 2012 at 6:12 pm

  5. I enjoyed the photos, especially that one where the eagle is looking over his shoulder. What a treat!

    November 20, 2012 at 6:29 pm

    • Glad you enjoyed them, Deb, it was a thrill for me too.

      November 21, 2012 at 1:03 am

  6. So glad to know you saw the eagle, great captures Jane! I always get a rush of adrenaline and am in awe when I see one too. Such grace and splendor!

    January 9, 2013 at 7:32 pm

Leave a Reply

