Just another WordPress.com site

I did It! I skied!

It was JOY-ful, Robin! I got my skies out, knocking everything else in the closet down, waxed them, put on all the layers of clothing, worried if it would be enough and put on some more layers, broke into a sweat then headed out to the park. It felt so good! I bandaged up one knee and gingerly set off. Oh, not so bad, not so bad at all. Got more of a glide. it was smooth, easier to do than walking at times. Wasn’t going full tilt but I was going and was loving it, mumbling, “Thank you Thank you! Thank You!”.

I worried about those little leaves in the tracks knowing they can stop you dead and knock you hard  to the ground. It didn’t happen. I stopped and fed the chickadees. I asked a woman to take my photo-good composition and she said that she knew nothing about cameras. I went home took a bath then dressed up for a grey cup party. That is the CFL big deal. Toronto won.

Then I creaked up off the couch at that party and hobbled to another outing. One fellow asked why I was “all stiff.”  I told him that I went skiing. He said, “Boy, are you ever out of shape!”

I bit my tongue a little  and responded that that was one reason why I went skiing. Did it hurt at the time? Oh I bandaged up the left knee and got a few sharp pains as well as in the right knee. Figured I will put tensors on both. Mostly it felt great.

Will I go again? Absolutely! for as long as I am able. Went for a walk today to loosen up and have a headache- I turned my head to listen to someone at the party and got a twinge in my neck. I need to be gentle but keep up regular exercise to maintain what I have, then slowly build on it.And the other thing is, you would never know I had pneumonia just a month ago. The ski was maybe up to 2 km and got  safely down one tiny incline-it is the herringbone moves that have me a little worried. I believe that strengthening the muscles will help the techniques and losing the weight- both better for the arthritis.

Thanks for the encouragement, Otto, David and Robin.your comments about skiing helped me.

11 responses

  1. I am impressed!

    November 26, 2012 at 9:41 pm

  2. Yay for you!!

    November 27, 2012 at 8:06 am

    • Thanks Beedie. It is so important to keep up the physical exercise, keeps my head and spirit in the right place and keeps the joints moving. So it is all good.

      November 27, 2012 at 1:39 pm

  3. Maxine Lozinski

    Good for you, glad you’re getting out.
    Had my eye surgery yesterday, everything is good.

    November 27, 2012 at 9:50 am

  4. Thank you Maxine and so excited for you! Wait until you see-you’ll be running for the next one.

    November 27, 2012 at 1:03 pm

  5. YAY ~ this is such wonderful news Jane… it sounds like a joyful ski adventue indeed. Treat that neck with love my friend…odd mine is also in a flare — maybe it’s a neck time of year or something. You look so happy in this photo ~ smiling back at ya Jane 🙂 x

    November 27, 2012 at 4:15 pm

  6. How great to read this post. Skiing is fun isn’t it? Congratulations with the effort. May you soon be out there in the snow!

    November 27, 2012 at 5:51 pm

  7. That’s a great, action photo of you! I’m glad that the skiing worked out and that you didn’t have too many aches and pains. I’ve always thought cross-country skiing looks fun, but I’ve never tried it.

    November 27, 2012 at 11:21 pm

    • Learning usually involves more effort but it becomes simpler and then is a joy, plus gives you a full-body workout.I find it very relaxing. I would suggest that you rent some and take lessons, then decide if you love it enough to purchase.

      November 28, 2012 at 8:36 am

  8. When I injured my knee last year and it took so long to recuperate I really thought my bicycling and skiing days might be over, but I wasn’t willing to give it up. Took a long time but perseverance paid off. In the meantime I sure put on the weight which doesn’t help.but I know now that I can do it.

    November 28, 2012 at 7:32 am

  9. I am happy that You could make skiing. Lovely photo.

    December 1, 2012 at 3:51 am

Leave a Reply

