Just another WordPress.com site

First Sunday of Advent -Hope

The lighting of Advent candles is a tradition that I decided that I want to follow although I am happy with all white candles because they came in a pack and were on sale.Different churches use different colours, I think the most popular are 3 purple and one pink one then the Christ candle in the centre is white and lit on Christmas day. This helps me to take the time and be still and reflect on the spirit of the season rather than getting all humbug over the sales rush.

Today’s candle is for hope, as in the hope for the coming of the Christ child. I just happen to have a rock with the word “hope’ on it. I enjoyed a walk after church then spent the afternoon putting up the Christmas tree and putting out the candles. and table cloths. Other years I have gone natural with wooden garlands but this year decided on the sparkles of the tinsel garlands and icicles.  I just love to sit in the living room with most lights out except the tree lights. it is very relaxing. So greetings of the season, for me, as Bing Crosby sings, it is beginning to look a lot like Christmas.

Jane Chesebrough

©Jane Chesebrough

 

This Year's Christmas Tree

 

© Jane Chesebrough

4 responses

  1. A beautiful tree.

    December 3, 2012 at 6:58 am

  2. I have The Blog Of The Year Award over here for you to collect a star and proudly display it!
    http://nutsfortreasure.wordpress.com/2012/12/03/please-check-the-list-blogger-of-the-year-2012/

    Eunice

    December 3, 2012 at 10:03 pm

Leave a Reply

