Just another WordPress.com site

Redpolls are Plentiful this Year

Some years I never see this bird and others, I see a lot of them. This is a good year. There are two species, the Common Redpolls and the Hoary Redpolls.  The latter are described as “little or no streaking on its rump or crissum and have silvery-white plummage, presenting a more frosted appearance. Also a stubby bill whereas the bill of the Common Redpoll is conical. They breed in the Arctic and see them here in Alberta in the winter months.

I think that I may have captured images of both kinds but not sure. Here I think they are all common. I am happy that I have pictures of male and females and on branches rather than on the feeder.Any comments are welcome.

Common Redpoll

 

Male Redpoll

 

A Pair of  'Pollspictures 032

pictures 085

 

Possible Hoary

17 responses

  1. You must live in the northern part of the country. We don’t have any of these down here. Great photos, Jane.

    January 6, 2013 at 3:44 pm

    • Alberta, Canada, Bob.I must admit I feel envious when you show your birding lists for an outing./ It is fun to see what other people see in different parts of the countries.

      January 6, 2013 at 10:19 pm

  2. Fantastic photos!

    January 6, 2013 at 5:37 pm

    • Thanks, Julie. good to hear from you.

      January 6, 2013 at 10:20 pm

  3. Loved your photos! I’ve heard that we have these in Ohio this winter, but I’ve yet to lay eyes on them.

    January 6, 2013 at 6:49 pm

    • Thank you Deb. hope you see them too. i need togo further afield and see what else Ican find.

      January 6, 2013 at 10:23 pm

  4. They have so much personality – or you have captured them in such a way that seems to reflect this Jane ~ wonderful images — and they are darling – both genders! 🙂 Love , Robyn

    January 6, 2013 at 9:47 pm

    • Thanks Robyn. I feel happy when I see them and really happy when I get them perching on the branches rather than the bag of niger seeds.

      January 6, 2013 at 10:21 pm

      • So much cuter on the branches – I agree ~ they do elicit a sense of “happy” — 🙂

        January 6, 2013 at 10:34 pm

  5. Beautiful collection Jane. Thanks for sharing these.

    January 8, 2013 at 9:14 am

    • Thank you for stopping by to see my post and for your comment, Christopher.

      January 8, 2013 at 11:19 am

  6. Redpolls are lovely birds, although there are reports of them here right now I have yet to see one so I really enjoy seeing your images of them.

    January 8, 2013 at 9:58 am

  7. Very nice captures, Jane!

    January 9, 2013 at 8:03 pm

    • Thanks Donna-just as happy to see yours as well.

      January 11, 2013 at 12:06 pm

  8. Great photos again as always.

    January 11, 2013 at 12:01 am

  9. Thank you for your comments, Matti.

    January 11, 2013 at 12:07 pm

  10. Beauties!

    January 11, 2013 at 12:56 pm

Leave a Reply

