Just another WordPress.com site

Here’s to Health

I have been on the computer reading my e-mails for 4 hours now. Some time has been looking for a job – it is so over-whelming, especially when every job requires some “twigging” on the resume. I did have an interview one week ago and it seemed to go positively.Admittedly, I didn’t go with the utmost of enthusiasm; however, as I heard more details, I become more interested. I should find out by Monday and in the meantime sent a thank-you note with some positive  comments about the desire to work with their company.

I am horribly out of shape and have gained lots of pounds which isn’t too impressive when you go waddling/limping into a job interview for a recreation position.   I used to push so hard and injured my wayward knee a couple of times and it took a long time to heal and now I know that I have arthritis in my knee.

What the heck , I am older. Getting inactive when you get older is serious, because it is much harder to get back into shape and I will never be where I was at in my twenties, thirties or even forties.  The trick is to focus on what I can do, and never give up.

I can tell you what doesn’t work:

Isolation, self pity, sitting around too much at the computer, binging on licorice, ju jubes, pizza, cheese, pop, especially the larger sizes that are a “good buy”.

What does work? I am starting to turn the eating thing around  with  small portions of meat, home-made soups,(canned is so expensive and I was inspired by Livin’ and Lovin’s  colourful and delicious  and nutritional soup today)

I am taking some herbs for bone health that a lot of people swear by. That and walking are good for arthritis. One year ago I couldn’t walk one block after twisting my knee but now can get quite a few blocks – I persevered.

I am only in my latter 50’s now and ooh not too good, but I am reading Jane Fonda’s book, Prime Time and actually relieved to read that although she goes hiking, she hasn’t been able to jog for 10 years. Her exercise video is a good  but gentle workout. I can not only hope to be in as good shape as her in my 70’s, I can work for it.

A friend gave me free pass for three visits to the “Y” I started going to yoga two weeks ago and it didn’t hurt so much the day after like the first time. I want to invest in this. It keeps me flexible as well as get back some stretch and strength that I have lost. I went on a “mall walk”  the other day because it was too slippery outside. I walked , I didn’t shop. (well-l-l-…I stopped to look at a couple of things).I am poor due to unemployment but bought some comfortable fitting clothes at the thrift store that allow for comfortable movement. I am in less pain that way and can move better.

Next week I am having a broncoscopy done ,  something I was dreading until I changed how I looked at it. I still do not like the idea of being sedated nor of having a tube down my throat and into my lungs.  I have chronic lung infections possibly one that has been around some time and never really goes away, thus many bouts  of pneumonia… I am practising turning the fear into calm using prayer. I am more excited about the fact that once we can figure out the problem,we can work on a solution.

I can balance the job search  with exercise and it still works to show up at a company to hand over a resume rather than just sit at a computer. And I can get ready for photo competitions and workshops by taking photos and getting fresh air and a little exercise. It definitely boosts my spirit.

I am drinking more water, something that feels good instantly as well as over the long term. I am getting healthy.

pictures 033-2

 

Morning Sun-A Bright Beginning

8 responses

  1. It sounds to me like you have paved a very healthy path for this new year Jane ~ for yourself. That is soooo great to hear. Take care of you — life is too short and good health is a gift I have learned. Yoga can be restorative and wonderful ~ just never push or challenge/compete with self on the mat… Food choices are so important. My body will not allow me not to make good choices at this point so it’s pretty easy for me there. Of course your art and your meditation/prayer will feed your soul which is worth so much.
    I’m rooting for you ~ fellow warrior of light 🙂 ~ Robyn

    January 18, 2013 at 3:57 pm

    • Ha ha! and I was just commenting on your post! Thank you for your encouragement-blessings to you!

      January 18, 2013 at 4:03 pm

  2. This all sounds really positive. Best of luck for job.

    January 18, 2013 at 5:18 pm

  3. Hugs & prayers Jane, keep those positive thoughts flowing!

    January 20, 2013 at 6:37 pm

    • you are right.(about keeping the positive flowing) Thank you

      January 20, 2013 at 11:16 pm

  4. Good to hear you are getting healthy. The changes you’ve made sound very positive.

    January 31, 2013 at 5:58 pm

    • Thank you. Two steps forward and one step back. but I am still focused on getting into better habits.

      January 31, 2013 at 8:55 pm

  5. Sounds like you are on a path to take control and live a healthy and fulfilling life. The changes you have decided to make, will make a huge impact on your quality of life. I wish you all the best getting back in shape, getting going and of course getting a job. 🙂

    February 2, 2013 at 4:58 pm

Leave a Reply

