Just another WordPress.com site

Snow Days

It is warm here, 32 degrees farenheit and icy due to warm temperatures and freezing rain. It will drop 20 degrees again which will make it really icy so I am grateful that I have my spikes that slip on over my boots. Do yourself a favour and buy a pair and save yourself an injury.We are expecting more snow too.

Shovelling snow can be a pain, I am hearing the complaints from some of you in the blogshere and I remember a couple of years ago when we  got so much snow that I started to hate it but it got better when I reminded myself each time  that it is good exercise and keeps you warm plus provides us photo fiends with  many glorious photo ops.

I also got to know the neighbours quite well as we ventured outdoors to shovel  and were trying to figure out where to put the white stuff that just kept coming and coming. At least it is drier here and the snow is lighter. I empathize with people in the east. Snow  is wetter and weighs a ton.

Here are some scenes from a couple of years ago:

March 13 224IMG_1907IMG_3397

 

Picture 025-2Picture 016-2

13 responses

  1. Wow, you got dumped on. Neighbors here are not so considerate. The snow blowers are pointed on each others properties rather than the medium where it is much more neighborly.

    January 18, 2013 at 5:49 pm

    • Ha!Snow wars! Every time I threw it over the fence, most just rolled back down again, I am shorter than the fence.that was 2 years ago.Check out Newfoundland on Google-I feel for them, they got a major dump in one storm – most of the power knocked out and 45 cm of snow-that’s 19.5 inches and blizzard conditions so that means HUGE snow drifts.

      January 18, 2013 at 6:35 pm

  2. Wow!

    January 18, 2013 at 6:31 pm

  3. Oh wow — can’t believe how much snow ~ we are in 20 degree F but so far no snow… maybe soon! xo RL

    January 18, 2013 at 7:56 pm

  4. That’s funny! The snow car. 🙂

    January 18, 2013 at 9:04 pm

  5. Great winter photos. I know cold and snow very well. We lived nearly 20 years in our own detached house on country side. I got tired of shoveling now and to warm fireplace (every single day). Sometimes it snowed so much that it took three hours to make it. So last summer we decided to sell our house and to move into some town, not city.

    All went well and now we live on the fifth floor in a small town by the lake having only half an hour walk to the center of town. During these two months we have enjoyed to walk on ice. It is great experience. Next winter we start to ski on the lake.

    Happy week-end!

    January 19, 2013 at 1:38 am

    • thank you! One of my my favourite Christmases was at my sister-in-laws parents cottage on the lake and we went skiing-great experience! Happy weekend to you as well.

      January 20, 2013 at 12:51 am

  6. hahahaha THAT SUCKS!!!

    January 19, 2013 at 10:11 am

  7. That is a LOT of snow!

    I’ve felt lucky the last two mornings to only find a dusting of snow on my vehicle and very little frost beneath it but I know the snow will be back and I’ll be out trying to get it all cleaned off of my Jeep. Warmer days will be here soon enough so for now I will just enjoy winter’s beauty.

    January 19, 2013 at 6:10 pm

    • And I find the good thing about cleaning the snow off the vehicle is that it keeps me warm. And I agree about enjoying winter’s beauty.

      January 22, 2013 at 12:38 pm

  8. Gad, reminds me of my growing up days in Michigan. Now I know why I moved to Texas.

    January 19, 2013 at 8:24 pm

    • Bob, you crack me up! 🙂

      January 20, 2013 at 11:52 pm

  9. Those look like photos from my area! We have really gotten dumped on. The snow in our yard is a few feet now. It makes for really messy driving, but it sure is pretty.
    Thank you for your nice comment on my blog. I really appreciate it.

    January 31, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Leave a Reply

