Just another WordPress.com site

Lake of Bubbles

I was wrong before when I said that the bubbles in Abraham Lake were formed by the tossing and turning. They actually form from the methane gas that is given off from the rotting vegetation.The lake is man made and the water rises and falls depending on how much water is released from the dam.

They are pretty and get a little dizzying when you walk on the ice and are looking down on them. I may have gotten better shots if I went further from shore but was so mesmerized by them i did not have to go far. If you want to see real fantastic photos google oopoomoo or Darwin Wiggett, Samantha Chrysanthou, or Royce Howland.

I have added a slight tint of blue to these except for the one that is de-saturated and the second and fourth photos with the tiny bubbles  that are close to shore and more brownish.i did see a blue cast to the ice and some that was broken in large chunks had a greenish tinge to it. There are large waves of frozen  and buckled ice in the lake so you have to be careful where you go-the depth can change quickly and there is flowing water under the ice.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

13 responses

  1. Very cool. I don’t think I’ve ever noticed anything like that before.

    February 7, 2013 at 6:38 pm

    • some lakes in Canada, Alaska and Siberia, apparently.

      February 9, 2013 at 8:41 pm

  2. What great shots Jane ~ almost like abstract paintings… I like how you treated them with the blue ~ Hope all is well ~ Sending Love , Robyn

    February 7, 2013 at 8:36 pm

    • Thanks Robyn. It was a nice break from jo-search and admit to being a “little “distracted with editing but feel well. hope you are coping with what is coming your way. It sure is good to hear from you.

      February 7, 2013 at 8:51 pm

  3. These are very interesting Jane and the story behind the bubbles is too, I read about the methane causing bubbles like this last week.

    February 8, 2013 at 6:50 am

  4. Interesting photo series. Now I’m wondering if there is any place near me where methane bubbles are frozen into the ice. Off the top of my head I can’t think of such a place.

    The most unique ice structure that I’ve seen so far this winter is this example of needle-like ice: http://www.flickr.com/photos/debplatt/8356618914/

    Now I’m wondering how it wood look with a blue tint.

    February 8, 2013 at 10:52 am

    • i looked at your photo and I liked it-just change your temperature slider and see what strikes your fancy.Try googling methane bubbles.

      February 9, 2013 at 8:44 pm

  5. The methane bubbles really make a great study. You got some really nice compositions which would look great as art on a contemporary wall.

    February 8, 2013 at 5:00 pm

  6. Thanks for your kind comments.

    February 9, 2013 at 8:45 pm

  7. You have really captured something special in these close-ups. They are almost surreal or of a different world. Great abstractions of a rather mundane subject. Beautifully seen and captured,
    .

    February 15, 2013 at 7:59 am

    • Coming from you, I am flattered. thank you.

      February 16, 2013 at 10:52 pm

  8. I had never heard of this before today! Beautiful photographs, Jane!
    And thank you for the visit today too!

    March 4, 2013 at 11:05 am

    • A pleasure. I appreciate you coming to visit my blog , as well.

      March 4, 2013 at 11:29 am

Leave a Reply

