Just another WordPress.com site

Back to Birding, with a little Surprise

I always enjoy the multitudes of opportunities that photography present to me but admit I have missed birding the last while. A friend, my photo buddy, came for a weekend visit and the weather brought sun so we were blessed with two days of great photo ops.

The first day we went to Hawrelak Park south of the down town area . Got to see a pair of Downy, Hairy and even Pileated Woodpeckers. Plus a visit from the friendly Black-capped Chickadees.  I was thinking about whether the weasel has paid a visit and as I was perusing the ground, its head popped out of a hole! And… I got the shot. And…it was in focus!

Hairy Woodpecker

Male Hairy Woodpecker, almost identical to the Downy but longer bill and narrower head and larger body. No black dots on outer tail feathers.Male Downy Woodpecker

Male Downy Woodpecker

Puffing Up the Feathers

Friendly Black-capped Chickadee with a sunflower seed.

FFemale Pileated Woodpecker

Female Pileated Woodpecker

Pop! goes the Weasel

and finally a visit from the resident weasel. Maybe it didn’t come closer because there was no peanut butter, something that seems irresistible  to this creature. I will share more birds that we saw  tomorrow.

9 responses

  1. This is the first time I have ever seen a weasel!

    March 13, 2013 at 11:24 pm

  2. very dangerous to the fowl so not always well-liked. About 18 ” long, half of that the tail.Turn brown in the warm weather.

    March 14, 2013 at 10:18 am

  3. That is the first time I saw a weasel in winter attire too. You really got a good shot of it in the snow.

    March 16, 2013 at 5:16 pm

    • Thanks, I consider it a gift and received it because I was alert and looking.

      March 17, 2013 at 3:04 pm

  4. Great series of photos, and I love that weasel. Nice catch!

    March 16, 2013 at 9:11 pm

    • Thank you, Deb. Happy St Patrick’s Day!

      March 17, 2013 at 3:01 pm

      • My husband pinched me today because I forgot to wear green. DOH!

        March 17, 2013 at 4:04 pm

  5. I did but not purposefully.Just happened to go with the sweater I chose for warmth. 😉

    March 18, 2013 at 1:13 pm

  6. Fantastic shots Jane! Right place, right time, finger-trigger ready, love the weasel, cute!

    March 19, 2013 at 7:55 pm

Leave a Reply

