Just another WordPress.com site

Come for a Walk with Me

I said yesterday that we were getting a storm last night. Oh yes, we sure did and it is still falling steadily. I took one shot this morning   through the basement window, using  Shaun’s ( a friend) settings that he had for snow plus some others.

Image

I get a bread bag, put my camera inside and cut a hole for the lens to poke through. I don’t want anything else getting wet and possibly damaging the camera.  I put on my big boots, the ones that are higher and I can tuck my pants into. I  think it is a perfect day to shoot the falling snow and I can see what everything looks like.Why don’t you join me?

My car looks like the photos from the other day, sleeping under a blanket of the white stuff.  We greet my neighbour and ask if I can take his photo. He actually stops shovelling and smiles for me and we agreed that we could use the snow for a hopefully raised water table. We also agree that we will need to shovel two or three times to keep up with what is still coming down.

Image

Then I took a photo of the street. Visibility is poor and you can’t see into the valley.

Image

I find the signs on the bike lanes a bit ironic, although I am sure I could find a die-hard cyclist somewhere in this city with studded tires and persistent will in the midst of all this.

Image

I take another shot looking the other way. I find this so exciting –  it is not often that I get out with the camera when the snow is falling so hard!

Image

Around another corner I see a man with a snowblower. I pass him and turn around and “Snap”.

Image

Although the driving is treacherous, there are a lot of people in their cars.I help one fellow who is stuck. I am about to help push, then he asks if I can drive standard and  I can, so I get in his car. He is yelling ” Drive fast” but I drive gently and steady because there is ice underneath and that is probably what caused him the problem in the first place. We get the car moving forward to a level spot with the two fellows pushing from behind. Were you one of them? It feels  good to be helpful.

I take a few more photos just because it is so pretty.

Image

Image

Image

Image

If you were with me in person I would say ” why don’t you come in, kick the snow off your boots and stay for a coffee.”

Maybe you are having a coffee. I am going to take a break before I go out again. Next  time I will leave the camera indoors and take the shovel with me. I do want to thank  you for coming for a walk around the neighbourhood. I know that I enjoyed it!

12 responses

  1. Brrr. We did have snow flurries here today, but no accumulation. I applaud you for still being able to see the beauty of the snow. I am having attitude problems about how cold it still is. I want to ditch my winter coat, sweaters, etc.

    March 21, 2013 at 6:46 pm

  2. It actually is very warm-just under zero celsius. Yes the attitude can falter , especially after shovelling the second or third time in a day and the smiles can disintegrate into curses..i am just procrastinating on the shovelling and the snow is much less but still steady at 7 p.m…..And oh, the winter itch!… the skin gets so dry.. but we may have another month or so to go with occasional snowfalls. so try to see the beauty in it-and it was so easy to see the beauty today. Much appreciate your comments, Deb.

    March 21, 2013 at 7:04 pm

  3. Pretty snow shots Jane! Wow you guys really get your share of the real thing.. we were due for 3 inches now…but doesn’t seem like it’s going to happen. Yes- dry skin is so tough in winter…but like you say — a gift in the beauty in it too! xxoo

    March 21, 2013 at 7:45 pm

  4. I should have said Happy Snowy Spring in my last comment! As everyone says around here, we lucked out and escaped any snow accumulations this past winter. But I had secretly wished for some of that pretty stuff so I could go out and do some photography. I certainly enjoyed your walk and photos Jane!

    March 21, 2013 at 7:49 pm

  5. Magical!

    March 21, 2013 at 8:27 pm

  6. Maxine Lozinski

    I really enjoyed your snow walk, wished I was there.

    March 21, 2013 at 9:23 pm

    • Sure, you could have helped me shovel-tee hee. I left it til tomorrow-got lazy plus had some aches that i didn’t want to make worse..

      March 22, 2013 at 12:55 am

  7. So cozy! We have yet full winter here. February was “warm”, but not it is cold. For example this Friday morning we had -18ºC = -0.4ºF. The temperature is nothing itself, but the hard cold wind coming from the North.

    Your photos are so enjoyable – really awesome!

    March 22, 2013 at 4:21 am

    • Yes, March seemed to come in like a lion and may go out that way, too. Our temperatures are similar to yours today but slowly raising-probably best for a slow melt to prevent floods.Enjoy the process!

      March 23, 2013 at 1:45 pm

  8. What a great series of snowy shots. I feel for you shoveling though. Nice of your neighbor to give you a smile.

    March 22, 2013 at 6:33 am

  9. Yes the time we spent together was quite enjoyable. It was fun playing in the snow and helping folks when we could. Let’s take a break from shoveling and duck inside for a bit.

    March 22, 2013 at 7:46 am

Leave a Reply

