Just another WordPress.com site

When the Pond is Frozen, A Puddle Will Do

I was getting somewhat blue after all this snow, then realized that I needed a respite in nature no matter what the weather so I headed down to Hawrelak Park The pond is still frozen over but so close to opening and the geese are arriving as are the Ring-billed Gulls and the first Mallards. There are pairs of geese all over the park and most seem to be taking up spots near any open water. These photos are taken in a large puddle and  I caught some nice reflections in the pond, er, puddle.

ImageImageImageImageImageImage 

3 responses

  1. Love these photos.

    April 14, 2013 at 2:02 am

  2. Nice series of photos. I often see mallards in what I think of as puddles. And there’s a teeny, tiny, little pond in a park near me that has a mated pair of mallards. They’ve been there a couple weeks now, and I’m almost persuaded that it’s their home now.

    April 16, 2013 at 8:27 pm

  3. Thank you Julie and Deb. I am impressed with how hardy the Mallards are, just hunkering down in the snow. Obviously a lot of warmth in the downy feathers, that’s why we stole them for our coats.Been observing both ducks and geese sipping at any water that is running downhill, perhaps a filtering effect?.

    April 18, 2013 at 11:07 am

Leave a Reply

