Just another WordPress.com site

Focusing on the Muskrat

I posted one photo of the muskrat and someone commented that it looked like a beaver-i thought so too when I first saw it because it was big.It is not actually a rat but is a rodent in the same family as lemmings and voles. People have traditionally trapped the muskrat for its fur. They can grow to be two feet long including  their rat-like tail. There were a pair of them at the pond and they were swimming back and forth. At one point this one came out of the water to munch on fresh shoots, keeping some distance but obviously enjoying its snack to be too concerned  with me. 

Image

 

Image

Image

 

Image

 

ImageI realise this does not belong to the rat family and a good thing.Did you know that the province of Alberta has zero tolerance for rats and people actually shoot them at the border, although once in a while there is an outbreak, such as last year when someone let a few loose.in southern Alberta  and quick action was taken to get rid of them.

.

 

8 responses

  1. Now it looks like a rat, even though not related. I hope to see you soon on GWGT. I have some birds coming up.

    April 28, 2013 at 4:20 pm

  2. Butch Villeneuve

    100% muskrat my friend, take care.

    April 28, 2013 at 4:44 pm

    • Hey, good to hear from you , Butch, thanks for your comments. 🙂

      April 28, 2013 at 4:49 pm

  3. Oh my goodness Jane – these photos are amazing. I did not know all of this about muskrats — thank you! Remember the song “Muskrat Love” ~ memories… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xBYV_7a0FQs x RL

    April 29, 2013 at 11:54 am

    • Yes, I remember! and was thinking of that song as I put together the blog I posted – thanks for your comments, and you are referred to though not mentioned in two blogs from now. Blessings to you.

      April 29, 2013 at 12:24 pm

      • Ha Ha I didn’t realize that you had sent me the dideo-priceless! It was interesting to see how the “captain” did the sound effects. Yes, the Captain and Tenille.

        April 30, 2013 at 3:35 pm

  4. Great series of muskrat photos! I especially liked the one where he’s eating.

    April 30, 2013 at 12:07 pm

Leave a Reply

