Just another WordPress.com site

Tranquil Moments

There is a lot of action at the ponds lately , what with territorial spats, breeding displays and mating. The waters are stirred up and it is a challenge to get a shot with all the birds in the frame.I like these action shots but I also like the quieter ones, when there are tranquil  moments when the birds are relaxed in calm waters. Today I will share some of these moments. Do you have your favourite ones?

Image

 

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

ImageI think that we are all enjoying the warmer weather.

 

9 responses

  1. They are all great, but loved that last shot Jane…the swirls in the water and the expression on this little guy! Lovely captures — looks fun 🙂 x RL

    May 7, 2013 at 9:17 pm

    • Good to hear from you, Robyn and thanks as always for your feedback.

      May 8, 2013 at 8:29 am

  2. First I’d like to say how delightful it is to not see any ice in the pond. 🙂 I loved the beautiful reflections that the water fowl made on the water’s surface. I think the final photo was my favorite, partly because it is an unfamiliar duck for me.

    May 7, 2013 at 10:40 pm

  3. Yes! No ice-amazing change, isn’t it! This is a female Goldeneye, there is a picture of the pair of them on my header-finally let go of the winter scene. 🙂

    May 8, 2013 at 8:31 am

  4. YAY winter has finally released it’s icy grip. Super photos and I think my favorite shot/shots would be the last two. I’ve never seen these two species in person.

    May 9, 2013 at 7:16 am

    • Thanks for your comments, as always.The last two are the Male American Wigeon (hunters used to call them bald pates”. and the female Goldeneye. the male and female Goldeneye are featured on the header.

      May 9, 2013 at 9:37 am

  5. great shots!

    May 12, 2013 at 7:37 am

Leave a Reply

