Just another WordPress.com site

First Blush of Spring

It is refreshing to see the grass turning green and the leaves unfurling from the buds. The temperature is warm and hearts are light.It seems like spring is late but photos from a couple of years ago tell me that the ice was on the pond until the end of April. Perhaps it seemed like such a long winter because it always is here in Central Alberta with six months of snow.

Today is a celebration of spring. The birds are mating, including a pair of red-necked Grebes  and during an early morning walk at the pond I heard my first warbler and saw it too, although way high up in the trees.My heart sang to hear the call of the Yellow-Rumped Warbler, though this was a “Myrtle rather than the usual Audobon’s variety.

ImageImageImageImageImage

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

 

Grebes Mating Hawrelak 065-2 Hawrelak 104-2 Hawrelak 133-2 Hawrelak 167-2 Hawrelak 187-2

16 responses

  1. Lucky you. I want to see or even hear a warbler. I have been seeing some unusual birds lately, just don’t happen to have the camera at hand though. I need to go on more bird walks. I really enjoy hearing them in the trees. You have some wonderful Spring photos. It is always a time of year when I really feel like getting out too.

    May 13, 2013 at 2:33 pm

    • I am going to get up earlier and go for my morning walk-good way to start the day and see what is flying into town.

      May 13, 2013 at 5:44 pm

  2. The reflections in the pond made for such a pretty scene. I just had my first encounter with a Yellow-rumped warbler. I had gone to Magee Marsh near Lake Erie. The warblers all stop there to eat and gather strength for their flight across the Great Lake.

    May 13, 2013 at 3:17 pm

    • All these photos are of the same pond and mostly looking at the two islands where the geese and ducks lay eggs but they are making nests on this side too where it is less protected.

      May 13, 2013 at 5:47 pm

  3. Butch Villeneuve

    Cool shot my friend

    May 13, 2013 at 3:47 pm

  4. Maxine Lozinski

    Nothing is nicer than the fresh spring green.

    May 13, 2013 at 5:03 pm

    • I agree -it is so nice to see again.

      May 13, 2013 at 5:48 pm

  5. Really so beautiful and inspiring spring photos. Finally spring came here too. Couple days ago we had 21ºC = 69.8ºF. BTW, if You have time, then take a look at my post before my beading post. In that post I am presenting my new home town and wonders of walking on a frozen lake.

    Happy week-end!

    May 18, 2013 at 12:11 am

  6. Very nice shots, Jane. A beautiful celebration of spring.

    May 19, 2013 at 9:51 am

    • Thank you going out again in a few minutes…

      May 20, 2013 at 1:16 pm

  7. How lovely to see that your long awaited spring has finally arrived Jane! Enjoy!

    May 19, 2013 at 4:38 pm

  8. What a lovely photo of the female common goldeneye (?). She looks fairly relaxed despite seeing you capture her on film. Thanks!

    May 28, 2013 at 11:27 am

    • She had just walked right up to me before this, when she realized I wasn’t going to feed her, she kept moving. Thanks for your comments.

      May 28, 2013 at 11:56 am

Leave a Reply

