Just another WordPress.com site

Know Thy Limits and Respect Them

I was craving a communal walk in nature and drove outside of the city with a friend to the Cooking Lake Blackfoot Recreational area and went to the Blackfoot staging area where we met another friend.

The three of us walked along the Whitetail trail to a pond and instead of turning back at that point, kept going to the Blackfoot junction and up the Buck Run back to the starting point. I have not walked this trail for about ten years and believe me, I felt the difference.

Great if you are in shape. Two days ago I had trouble moving even a few steps, but it rained and the barometric pressure changed. Yesterday I felt good.  We did not do the math beforehand as they list the length between each junction-and there are a few- it turned out the total length was just under 7km. I ran out of energy half way so found it to be a  gruelling trek.

At the end of the walk I was surprised that I could do it but truthfully wondered many times if I would be able to make it. My friends were wondering if I could make it and one of them hadn’t bothered with mosquito repellent but as the day grew long he was suffering.The other friend took off after the walk, probably to do more exploring.

I think that I would like to start small and slowly work my way up. Today I am lazing about and drinking water as I did get dehydrated. So must remember: baby steps, take water, extra clothing, snacks, puffer, mosquito repellent.At least At least I drank before I left and put on lots of repellent.

I did get some nice shots and enjoyed relaxing by the ponds. We saw a few garter snakes but they left before we could capture an image. One of my friends was lucky to catch a larger sized one sunning itself beside the cook house.Here are some images from the day that made it worth while:

Image

 

Picture 111-2

Image

Image

Image

ImageImage

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

Picture 214-2

Image

11 responses

  1. Amazing photos, really love the dragonfly’s. It sounds like it was an amazing hike even though it was probably a bit much.

    August 19, 2013 at 8:20 pm

    • Even when I was literally dragging my feet some dappled light in the trees would grab my attention and i would exclaim, “Wow, is that ever pretty!”

      August 20, 2013 at 6:19 pm

  2. Wonderful photos Jane…and it appears the area you guys were was full of diverse subject matter!!!

    August 20, 2013 at 7:56 am

    • I guess I could have fed on a few things or a few things could have fed on me if I didn’t make it out. 🙂

      August 20, 2013 at 5:41 pm

  3. Nicely done. I very much like the abstracts.

    August 20, 2013 at 2:24 pm

    • Thanks Kerry, nice to hear from you.

      August 20, 2013 at 5:40 pm

  4. On a few occasions we’ve regretted not bringing more water. I’ve had situations that despite applying and re-applying DEET, the mosquitoes harassed me anyway. Unless I’m going on a short walk in a familiar area, I typically bring a daypack or fannypack now (with water, bug spray, sunscreen, trail snacks, tweezers, etc.). I totally agree about working your way up to more challenging hikes. I’m usually getting out on the weekends, but I’m not doing enough during the week. Even going for a walk in the neighborhood helps with conditioning.

    I did enjoy your photos very much. 🙂

    August 20, 2013 at 4:05 pm

  5. The photos made the trip worth it. Hiking can take a lot out of one but it is hard to refuse though. I like the fungus shot. The fungus is always full of color and pattern.

    August 21, 2013 at 10:41 am

  6. Jane, I can empathize with starting small and working your way up. You did capture some lovely photos though!

    August 24, 2013 at 5:28 am

    • Thanks Mia! Glad you like them. The next little hike I took was far more sensible.

      August 26, 2013 at 6:06 pm

Leave a Reply

