Just another WordPress.com site

Birds and Squirrels at the Feeders

I thought that I would try my hand at photographing the animals and birds in the city parks because I am finally seeing them more often. In August it was as if the birds disappeared. I did take shots at the feeders but am trying to get the birds on the branches that they perch on before they go to the feeder.

Some, like the nuthatches, are smart, always going to the back of the tree when they come to the feeder or when they depart. Some patience is needed until they get more trusting and I start to figure out where they are most likely to land.Either way, they are fast!

All these photos were taken in Aperture Priority at 400 ISO in low light due to trees around me on both sides of the trail.

Here I am getting scolded by a red squirrel.

Image

You can see the colours of fall in the next one.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

As you can observe , I have some practising to do. None are sharply focused and it was getting darker with the camera facing the sun. There were a couple of downy woodpeckers but they were very blurry and deleted. This is a project that I won’t mind taking on, because I get so much pleasure out of taking photos of these creatures and watching their behaviours.

6 responses

  1. I love the scolding squirrel!

    September 23, 2013 at 8:29 pm

    • That’s the second time in a week that I have witnessed them scolding at me at a close distance.Usually they run up a tree and scold from a safe perch.where I can’t actually see them.

      September 23, 2013 at 10:53 pm

      • If I send you a couple of hundred rabbits, could you send me a couple of squirrels?

        September 24, 2013 at 5:29 am

        • Oh no, Julie, we are well populated with those critters and in areas the squirrels aren’t much better.

          September 24, 2013 at 10:35 am

  2. Wow.. Loved the scolding squirrel. And I’m always charmed by nuthatches and chickadees.

    September 27, 2013 at 8:59 pm

    • these are the ones i see most frequently

      September 30, 2013 at 5:35 pm

Leave a Reply

