Just another WordPress.com site

Great to See the Chickadees Again

I find Chickadees to be friendly , curious and a source of wonder that always gives me a lift. They kept their distance in the summer as they were busy raising their young. Now they fly up to me on the trails, sometimes seeking handouts. I was too close at times cutting off the tails  and blurring the photo. This one flew in front of me and landed on the trunk to eat its sunflower seed. I don’t think it was aware of my presence at first, judging from these two photos. I stepped back to get the shot, didn’t even have time to change my focal length and was surprised that part of it was in focus. Both photos were taken at 1/80 sec @f/5.0 ISO 800 210 mm

Hawrelak 172-2

Hawrelak 173-2

 

3 responses

  1. Very cute photos!

    A couple days ago I just saw my first junco for the season in my yard. Strangely enough, these birds think Ohio is a great place to spend the winter. In the spring they leaves us once again for more northern destinations.

    October 25, 2013 at 9:14 am

  2. Butch Villeneuve

    Good job my friend, they are cute little birds and there everywhere.

    Butch VilleneuveButch’s Consulting Ltd(780) 405-6909

    Date: Fri, 25 Oct 2013 13:45:55 +0000 To: butch_vill@hotmail.com

    October 25, 2013 at 12:37 pm

  3. Like Deb above, I also saw my first Junco. They also spend their winter in Niagara Falls too. The Chickadees never leave. Cute photos. I agree, sometimes they get too close.

    October 25, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Leave a Reply

