Just another WordPress.com site

A Greeting to All of You Around the World

As I watched the opening of the Olympics on my computer I thought of my fellow bloggers from all the countries as their teams walked in. I felt close to you and thought of you when your country entered and thought of how many of us are watching the games at some point. I  was excited about the games despite the lack of  human rights in Russia  regarding the LGBT peoples. It will be interesting to see how it all goes.I send prayers to all who participate, and watch, that all will be safe.

Image

15 responses

  1. I hope the protests don’t affect the athletes. It seemed almost taking a chance to go to these Olympics.

    February 7, 2014 at 6:15 pm

  2. I am happy the games have begun and am sure the athletes are focused on their tasks..

    February 7, 2014 at 10:20 pm

    • My exact thoughts Jane! Good luck to your country! 🙂

      February 9, 2014 at 6:21 pm

      • Thank you.And likewise to yours and all my blogging friends from from Finland, South Africa, Australia, etc. and I did feel close to you and others as I saw your country come in and I enjoy watching all the athletes do their best I can remember when I was a kid we got only a couple of medals, and good to see sponsorship improve and yes there is rivalry but its also about coming together and getting to know one another and making friendships.

        February 9, 2014 at 10:53 pm

  3. I hope everything goes well at the games and just let the athletes compete with no political stuff to interfere.

    February 8, 2014 at 8:18 am

  4. Let’s hope everything goes well in Sotsji. And yes, I think it’s a great concern that the Olympic games take place in a country with so much human rights violation.

    February 11, 2014 at 1:31 pm

  5. So you know of Thomas Kokta? I was amazed at his images but had no idea he did tours. Makes more sense now that he did not “just luck out” finding the den.

    February 11, 2014 at 5:15 pm

    • I never heard of him before now but I worry the effect of humans especially tours on wildlife especially polar bears- are we endangering the bears? They seemed to be aware of his presence but if we interfere too much…well, that’s why they are in zoos.At one point I got a short video of the mother and kids sliding down a hill-very cute, but couldn’t find it again, just took me to the website for the tours. did see the still photos-amazing!

      February 11, 2014 at 5:56 pm

  6. I also hope everything goes well in Sochi. We have in our family “hard times” during these two weeks, because we are watching them many hours daily. This is due to it that my wife worked in her young days few years for Finnish Olympic Committee.

    Finnish winter sports are downhill now and it is sad to us. I replied to You latest comment on my blog.

    February 13, 2014 at 11:33 pm

    • Hopefully things will pick up again. really great that your wife worked on the Finnish Olympic committee.I have been watching on my computer.

      February 14, 2014 at 1:07 pm

  7. that looks very cool 🙂

    February 15, 2014 at 8:25 am

  8. Bob and I have been watching the sporting events in the evenings. Some of the things that these athletes have mastered make them seem like super-heroes!

    February 19, 2014 at 11:55 am

    • No kidding-I am amazed at the moves and bravado in the freestyle skiing and snowboarding.

      February 19, 2014 at 12:03 pm

      • They’ve included new snowboarding events that I didn’t even know existed. I loved the freestyle downhill (and who knew that people on skis could do the same things as snowboarders?!?!). And last night we were watching snowboarding “cross” — I think that’s what they called it — where a large group of people race down the slope at the same time. With the people bumping into each other and knocking each other out of the race, it kind of reminded me of “roller dirby”. lol.

        February 19, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Leave a Reply

