Just another WordPress.com site

Welcome Back, Robins!

I have been out for walks more often as the ground shows itself under the melting snow and I have been watching and listening. I was sure last week that I heard the call of a robin, that little short chortling sound they make. I would stop and listen, only to hear a magpie, but felt sure I heard  a robin.

Some have been known to over winter here in the deep ravines. but this was in the wider valley so I am certain they are returning from their trip to the south.

Today I heard the sounds again, and gazed down the hill into the valley and kept hearing a conversation. Then I saw not one, but three of them scurrying along the ground the way they do.Then as I got closer I could see their red breasts and have no doubt. My spirits lifted and I welcomed them back.This photo is from a past year, later in the season.

Image

6 responses

  1. Maxine Lozinski

    A sure sign of spring!

    March 16, 2014 at 12:02 pm

  2. Glad they are back. Many never left here to go South. It looks like a healthy one too.

    March 17, 2014 at 6:54 am

  3. Robins used to be a sign of spring here, but I’m told that due to the berries of an invasive plant (Japanese honeysuckle), they now are staying all year long. I’ve got quite a few photos of them in the snow. These look odd to me because it’s not the way it used to be.

    March 23, 2014 at 9:25 am

    • There are a lot of things that aren’t the way they used to be.Even though some robins over winter here, I see them and crows and gulls as a sure sign of spring.

      March 23, 2014 at 10:27 am

  4. beautiful…I always love to hear the birds in Spring they sing a song of hope to me. 🙂

    April 10, 2014 at 10:43 pm

Leave a Reply

