Just another WordPress.com site

Changing Light

It is interesting to see how much or how little, evaluative range my camera has. I am always attracted to high contrasts of light  and usually the higher light areas get blown out. I could capture more of a range if I tried HDR and got a few exposures of one scene. I will probably try that, but tonight I just wanted to capture the moment as I saw it without fiddling with settings or setting up a tripod. Leaving the feathered friends out of this group of photos as I share what else I saw.Enjoy.

pictures 086-2 pictures 002-2 pictures 004-2 pictures 005-2

 

pictures 037-2 pictures 006-2 pictures 018-2

11 responses

  1. Butch Villeneuve

    Good job my friend practice makes perfect so they told me. Take care.

    Sent from Butch Villeneuve Samsung tablet

    August 25, 2014 at 2:55 pm

    • Thanks , I kind of hit over load for a bit there. Just needed to rest.

      August 28, 2014 at 7:19 am

  2. Very nice, I especially like the one with the guy running. The tonal values are wonderful.

    August 25, 2014 at 6:46 pm

    • thanks Donna, I had to do some recovery work in Lightroom after the fact to darken some blown-out areas but I too, was attracted to this scene for this reason.

      August 28, 2014 at 7:20 am

  3. What camera do you have? If you can shoot in RAW then you can try a bit of HDR with only 1 shot. I do this quite often and it works pretty well.

    August 26, 2014 at 7:40 am

    • Hi Steve I have a Canon Rebel XS. I can shoot in RAW but there is no HDR function in the camera itself. I have combined three photos into one in the past, then used Corel Paintshot Pro to develop it..

      August 28, 2014 at 7:16 am

      • If your camera came with Canon Digital Photo Professional, you can edit the RAW file with it, and adjust the exposure and export to 3 or more jpg files of different exposures. Then it’s just as if you took 3 separate bracketed shots.

        August 28, 2014 at 7:31 am

        • Thanks Steve, much appreciated, I will check this out when I get some time.

          August 30, 2014 at 7:46 pm

  4. thanks , I had to do some recovery work in Lightroom after the fact to darken some blown-out areas but I too, was attracted to this scene for this reason.

    August 28, 2014 at 7:18 am

  5. You captured the moment beautifully without fiddling with the settings. Sometimes the simplest is not only the easiest but also the best. I really love the second to last photo.

    August 28, 2014 at 7:50 am

    • Thanks Otto. Your feedback is much appreciated.

      August 28, 2014 at 11:41 pm

Leave a Reply

