Just another WordPress.com site

Looking and Seeing

I often look, but don’t see what I am looking at, even with my camera in hand. I like to remind myself to slow down and explore different angles, shoot from worm’s eye or bird’s eye view, shoot into the light so my subjects are backlit.So often I rush to capture a bird before it flies away but when I slow down and think of different viewpoints from which to shoot, I can surprise myself with the results.

I think it is good to practise, to exercise my creativity  with anything that is in front of me, not just what I usually take photos of. There are endless ways to do this, probably why I have not tired of photography.The practice of looking and slowing down helps me see the regular objects around me in a slightly different way.

There are other benefits, such as being in the moment, relaxing, and the feeling of gratitude.

pictures 100-2pictures 132-2pictures 012-2pictures 079-2 pictures 014-3 pictures 033-3 pictures 077-2 pictures 078-2

6 responses

  1. I never saw a Canada Goose on a roof before. Good catch. You still have snow? Much of our snow is gone, but the water still holds a lot of ice. In a week or so, the ice boom lets loose and all that ice (giant icebergs) in the river is going to make birds very unhappy.

    April 7, 2015 at 6:13 pm

    • hi Donna, most of the ice is gone from the ground but the ponds are frozen except at the edges and the river is open with ice patches. so I will watch for Bald Eagles.Still cold days but lots more warm ones.

      April 7, 2015 at 6:44 pm

  2. Girl Gone Expat

    I really like the reflections in the water, very nice! I’ve got a thing for reflections:)

    April 7, 2015 at 6:42 pm

  3. this is stunning 🙂

    April 8, 2015 at 3:17 am

Leave a Reply

