Just another WordPress.com site

Red – Winged Blackbird

I drove outside of the city to Big Lake in St. Albert in the golden glow of early evening. A highway was built through this sanctuary a couple of years ago(somebody’s bright idea) and I had to cross it to get to the lake but at least it was accessible and did find out from one couple that there is another route that goes under the highway bridge so I will try when I go back . After crossing the highway and before the lake there is a boardwalk that meanders over a wetland area. This place is teaming with life,especially red-winged blackbirds, a couple of dozen at least. They are resplendant in their breeding plumage and displaying their colours as well as singing their hearts out. Did not see one female, nor did I see any yellow-headed blackbirds (thought I heard one) but did see some Common Grackles, Crows, nesting Canada Geese, one American Coot and a couple of beaver. Did not get many shots, the tripod was more of a nuisance at times with the wind and though there were dozens of birds, they kept their distance and few to another perch after displaying. This was fun to watch but a little frustrating after getting so close to the tamer ones in the city park. I wondered why there weren’t more ducks but oh yes, it is still only April not mid-May, but I will keep checking.Maybe I will return today-it is beautifully sunny and I can use a fast shutter speed and forgo the tripod, although it is a good chance to use the tripod and  my new cable shutter release. But for now, I will publish these shots that I did get ,and some are cropped.

©Jane Chesebrough

©Jane Chesebrough

©Jane Chesebrough

15 responses

  1. ooo Jane you did well!! Loo at that expression you caught on him:) Looking forward to more!

    April 21, 2012 at 9:58 am

  2. Thank you Robyn, yes, I just called a friend and we are going out there again today. Trust you are well.

    April 21, 2012 at 10:00 am

  3. That last photo is amazing!

    April 21, 2012 at 11:36 am

  4. Great shots Jane!!

    April 22, 2012 at 2:12 pm

  5. i couldn’t resist-the title of the last photo is “Too Sexy for my Wings.”

    April 22, 2012 at 5:19 pm

  6. Great captures, Jane! 🙂

    April 22, 2012 at 7:00 pm

  7. It’s three great shots – and I particularly like the last one. You really caught the bird in a awkward moment. Quite fun and expressive.

    April 24, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    • I appreciate that you took time to comment -thank you.

      April 27, 2012 at 10:54 am

  8. I love the last photo most of all, but all photos are great shots.

    April 27, 2012 at 4:24 am

    • I am happy that you enjoy them.

      April 27, 2012 at 10:55 am

  9. Great shots! The red winged blackbird does not look very happy with its photo being taken. What an amusing expression!

    April 28, 2012 at 5:43 pm

    • Never seen one so totally involved in his call to the females!

      April 29, 2012 at 9:01 am

Leave a comment