Just another WordPress.com site

Pileated Woodpecker – the Prize for Me

I like to photograph birds and the Downy and the Hairy are great finds as are the yellow-shafted flicker and the sapsucker (more of a rarity) but I always get excited when I spot the Pileated Woodpecker and even more happy when I can get a good shot of one. They are the largest woodpecker in North America and are about sixteen inches from head to tail. Two days ago I was near the feeders when a black shape flew by and I could hear a deep  loud sound of wings.I looked in the direction it flew and sure enough, it was the pileated woodpecker. This time it was a male, with the extra red stripe under its bill and a larger top knot than the female. it was making a late afternoon visit to the feeders to dine on suet.

Going for the Suet

It stayed to feed on suet then took off to a higher perch where I heard it pounding away at the trunk of a mostly dead tree. I followed it and even got a couple of photos before it flew it’s undulating flight pattern to a stand of trees further away. It only takes a few minutes for them to make these deep holes in the tree and when you are in the woods and see trees full of these squared-off holes, it is a good sign the pileateds are around. Often Owls will nest in these holes.

Knocking on Wood

It is often too high up or far away to get a good shot, or obscured by many branches. I sometimes see the pair of them together on the same tree.  Maybe there will be young ones to come. Regardless, this day was a good one for this photographer.

14 responses

  1. Beautiful images :O) I’ve never seen one of these. Still hoping too

    March 19, 2013 at 1:38 pm

    • best to get in touch with your local bird or nature club-they will know! Good luck!

      March 19, 2013 at 2:29 pm

  2. You did get good photos and what luck. I find them out of reach often too. The woods at the falls gets them, but they are always just out of camera range. They are big, but it never helps if they are so high in the trees. Nice to add to your images of woodpeckers.

    March 19, 2013 at 3:50 pm

  3. Excellent shots Jane! I love woodpeckers and never see them so thank you! ~ Robyn with Love 🌻

    March 19, 2013 at 6:21 pm

    • You are most welcome! Hugs, Jane

      March 20, 2013 at 10:55 pm

  4. I keep trying to photograph one of these, and every one of my shots is blurry. You did a nice job with your photos.

    March 19, 2013 at 7:03 pm

  5. Excellent prize shots Jane, well done! I’ve never seen one, hope I do some day AND get a shot too. 🙂

    March 19, 2013 at 8:15 pm

    • Wishing you the best, thanks for your comments. Always welcome.

      March 20, 2013 at 10:32 pm

  6. Super shots Jane!!! Woodpeckers sure can be difficult to capture with a camera…they always seem to be in a hurry to get to the next tree!

    March 20, 2013 at 7:43 am

    • hey, are you back on the site? I have missed your blogs. Thanks for your comments , I lucked out with the pileated for a few reasons: I was the only person there, it was focused on the suet and I had a clear view.

      March 20, 2013 at 10:31 pm

  7. Zac Peetsma

    I’ve been looking for a Pileated all winter! Nice shots.

    March 20, 2013 at 9:48 am

    • Thank you for your comments and I hope you get another shot at the weasel.

      March 20, 2013 at 10:28 pm

  8. I am enjoying your site quite a bit. You have some wonderful photos. We finally got some photos of the Pileated Woodpecker last month after those birds teased us for so long. We won’t ever see them at home because of our habitat, but we get other woodpeckers throughout the year.

    April 15, 2013 at 6:06 pm

    • glad you visited my site,I will check out yours soon.

      April 16, 2013 at 2:36 pm

Leave a comment