Just another WordPress.com site

More Birds from Last Week

While I take a break from shovelling the snow from around the car -at least one foot of it – I would like to share some photos of the birds that I saw near the feeders at Hawrelak Park in the last week.

The first few were shot using Aperture Priority, the woodpecker in Shutter priority and the squirrel in Manual mode. I have been experimenting  with modes, departing from using  my usual manual mode because sometimes the birds move so fast or the light changes so quickly that one less button to adjust might come in handy. It is nice to have a narrow depth of field but more likely that parts of the bird will be out of focus when it is moving so much so better to shut down the aperture somewhat from f/6 to f/8.  I find too, that being zoomed- in totally gives me a better chance of losing parts of the planned composition.When I need the fast shutter speed I turn up the ISO. Live and learn.What mode do you shoot birds in?

Mostly I like to get a shot of a bird when it lands on a branch before or after going to the feeder but in the case of the Red-breasted Nuthatch, it was too well-hidden in the branches and very evasive.

There was a White-breasted Nuthatch.

Image

as well as a Red-breasted Nuthatch. I once had one of these land in my hand while I was feeding the chickadees.

Image

Some Common Redpolls:

Image

and a few  Black-Capped Chickadees. Although I can not see this one’s face, I like seeing how it holds the seed between its feet so it can break the husk off.Image

Here is a different view of a Hairy Woodpecker feeding at the suet feeder:

Image

and one with a Chickadee flying away that has no still, in-focus parts, but I like the action:

Image

And of course, though it is not always welcome,  I had to include a Red Squirrel. Took this shot using manual mode and do admit is is somewhat over-exposed in spots:

Image

I am looking forward to going back to the park but first need to dig myself out. Usually there is lots of activity at the feeders after a big snowfall.

8 responses

  1. The squirrel’s expression gave me a smile. So cute . I like the chickadee flying too. The action blurred really shows how fast they are.

    March 22, 2013 at 1:53 pm

    • Thanks for your comments. I never get tired of squirrels or chickadees except when the latter burrowed through a mattress I had waiting on a porch.

      March 23, 2013 at 1:02 pm

  2. Big smile!

    March 22, 2013 at 7:53 pm

  3. Beautiful Birds…the Squirrel too :O) Nice captures.

    March 23, 2013 at 8:46 am

  4. Jane, I almost always have my camera set to aperture priority with auto ISO turned off then I can bump my ISO up or down or change the aperture to get the shutter speed I want.

    Especially like the Red-breasted Nuthatch, they are so cute!

    March 23, 2013 at 3:23 pm

    • Thanks for the reminder, Mia! and happy that you like the nuthatch.

      March 24, 2013 at 3:21 pm

Leave a comment